Skip to main content

High School Literary Arts Awards Competition


2016 Winners


• CONFERENCE CHAIRPERSON/PORTFOLIO SCHOLARSHIP JUDGE: Anita Miller Garner, chair of the HSLAA since 1995, has taught fiction writing at the University of Alabama and Virginia Commonwealth University. She is Professor of English at the University of North Alabama. Undeniable Truths, her collection of short fiction, was released in late 2009. She blogs about Southern Culture at Talking in Accents.
• LITERARY MAGAZINE JUDGE: Jessica Cornelson is an Associate Professor of English at Alabama State University where she teaches composition, literature, and creative writing. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in journals such as Botticelli Magazine, Mid-American Review, Parody, Platte Valley Review, and Salamander. She is an alumna of the Sewanee Writer’s Conference, has twice been a writer-in-residence at the Catskill Center’s Platte Clove Preserve, and is a recipient of a Fellowship in Literary Arts from the Alabama State Council on the Arts.

SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS (seniors). Award: $500 cash to use toward college of recipient’s choice.

• Makayla Smith, student of Foster Dickson, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, winner of the Ruth & Jay Ott Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• Madeline Pratt, student of T.J. Beitelman, Alabama School of Fine Arts, winner of the Mozelle Purvis Shirley Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• Adelaide Kimberly, student of Denise Trimm, Mountain Brook High School, winner of the Lindsey Stricklin Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• Natalie Lett, student of Jon Carter, Briarwood Christian High School, winner of the Curnutt Family Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• David Hobdy, student of Douglas Ray, Indian Springs School, winner of the Alabama Writers’ Forum Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• Anna Smith, student of Connie Nolen, Pelham High School, winner of the Leah Marks Memorial Senior Portfolio Scholarship
• Kelli Sellers, student of Mary Howard, Montevallo High School, winner of the Katherine W. and Byrd T. Thompson Senior Portfolio Scholarship


Exceptional Literary Content

Co-Winner: Graphophonia ( Booker T. Washington High School)
Editor: Keandra Pope, student of Foster Dickson
$150 to the magazine
Co-Winner: Cadence (Alabama School of Fine Arts)
Editors: Lucy Jones and Madeline Pratt, students of T.J. Beitelman
$150 to the magazine

Judge’s Special Recognition for Exceptional Literary Content

Silhouette (Sparkman High School)
Editor: Trey Fisher, student of Renee Quaife
$50 to the magazine
The Eclectic (Bob Jones High School)
Editors: Theresa Andrzejewski, Megan Zecher, Alyssa Kennedy, Rachel Bryan, Kayla Carden, Lok Yem, Olivia Schweikart, students of Brandy Panagos
$50 to the magazine

Exceptional Graphic Design and Layout

• Winner: The Artisan (Briarwood Christian School)
Editors: Allyson Payne and MeMe Collier, students of Jon Carter
$150 to the magazine

Judge’s Special Recognition for Exceptional Graphic Design and Layout

More Than Words (Pelham High School)
Editors: Sarah Sanson, Maggie Smith, and Kaitlin Van Dorsten, students of Connie Nolen
$50 to the magazine
The Cosmos (Hale County High School)
Editors: Lauren Gallegos and Zach Wyatt, students of Donna Randall
$50 to the magazine
The Azimuth Circle (Bayside Academy)
Editor: Mackenzie Ross, student of Emma Burgess
$50 to the magazine

Donations in the name of Katherine W. Thompson have been given to the Alabama Writers’ Forum to support the 2016 High School Literary Arts Awards:

Susan Tom
Nana Lampton
Sue Brannan Walker
Alabama State Council on the Arts
Steve Gierhart
Philip and Virginia Shirley
Jim Buford
Marlin Barton
Tony Crunk

  • ASCA
  • AHA
  • SCAC
  • DYS